ASTM A691 CM-75 Electric-Fusion-Welded Pipe
A691 CM75 Chrome Moly Welded Pipe Description
A691 CM-75 is a heavy-wall electric-fusion-welded (EFW) pipe fabricated from ASTM A204/A204M Grade C carbon-molybdenum pressure-vessel plate, nominally 16 in. (406.4 mm) outside diameter and larger with wall thickness up to 3 in. (75 mm). The grade fixes the plate and its strength level - 75–95 ksi (515–655 MPa) tensile, 43 ksi (295 MPa) minimum yield, 201 HB maximum - while the class fixes what was done to the finished pipe: heat treatment, radiographic examination of the weld and hydrostatic test. Class 22, the class most often ordered in steam and process service, means all three. Note that despite the common trade label "chrome moly", CM-75 carries no deliberate chromium addition; the chromium-bearing A691 grades are the ½Cr through 9Cr series. We supply the grade from OD 406.4–1626 mm (NPS 16–64) with wall 6–75 mm, minimum order 30 t, issued with an EN 10204 3.1/3.2 mill test report and open to third-party inspection on request.
A691 CM75 alloy steel EFW pipe specification
| Specification | ASTM A691/A691M-19 (2025 reapproval listed as active by ASTM) · ASME SA-691 is the identical ASME adoption |
|---|---|
| Product form | Electric-fusion-welded pipe, welded with filler metal added, fabricated from pressure-vessel-quality plate |
| Grade | CM-75 - carbon-molybdenum steel, plate ASTM A204/A204M Grade C |
| Class | 10 to 53. Class 22 = stress relieved + radiography (Section 9) + pressure test (8.3) |
| Nominal scope | Outside diameter 16 in. (406.4 mm) and larger; wall up to 3 in. (75 mm) inclusive |
| Supply range | OD 406.4–1626 mm (NPS 16–64) · wall 6–75 mm (0.236–3 in.) |
| Tensile strength | 75–95 ksi (515–655 MPa) |
| Yield strength, min | 43 ksi (295 MPa) |
| Elongation, min | 20% in 2 in. (50 mm) · 16% in 8 in. (200 mm) |
| Hardness, max | 201 HB |
| Phosphorus / sulfur, max | 0.025% / 0.025% (A204 Gr. C) · 0.020% / 0.010% controlled for hydrogen service |
| Stress relief | 1100–1200 °F (590–650 °C) |
| Length | 5.8–12 m standard; up to 18 m on request; double random, fixed or cut-to-length |
| Monthly capacity | Up to 5,000 t of welded pipe |
| Documentation | EN 10204 3.1 / 3.2 mill test report, heat-number traceable to the plate; NDE and heat-treatment records |
| Third-party inspection | SGS · BV · TUV · Intertek, or client-nominated agency |
| Minimum order | 30 tons per item; mixed items may be combined |
Chemical composition of the CM-75 plate
A204 Grade C is a carbon-molybdenum steel with a nominal 0.5% molybdenum addition. That molybdenum content is the whole point of the grade: it raises the elevated-temperature strength and creep resistance that plain carbon steel loses in hot service.
| Element, % | Heat analysis | Product analysis |
|---|---|---|
| Carbon, max - up to 1 in. (25 mm) | 0.23 | 0.23 |
| Carbon, max - over 1 to 2 in. (25–50 mm) | 0.26 | 0.26 |
| Carbon, max - over 2 to 4 in. (50–100 mm) | 0.28 | 0.28 |
| Carbon, max - over 4 in. (100 mm) | 0.28 | 0.28 |
| Manganese, max | 0.90 | 0.98 |
| Phosphorus, max | 0.025 | 0.025 |
| Sulfur, max | 0.025 | 0.025 |
| Silicon | 0.15–0.40 | 0.13–0.45 |
| Molybdenum | 0.45–0.60 | 0.41–0.64 |
| Chromium | Not specified | Not specified |
P and S are the same in A204 and A204M. The "M" suffix changes the unit system for mechanical properties - ksi to MPa - and turns the thickness call-outs into millimetres. It does not change the chemical requirements, which are stated in mass percent in both versions. One set of limits therefore applies: P 0.025% max, S 0.025% max. There is no separate "A204M phosphorus limit", and quoting one is a common reading error.
Plates and standards used for steel pipes
| Steel Pipe Grade | Steel Type | Plate Standard ASTM | Steel Plate Grade |
Hardenss HB max |
| CM-75 | Carbon molybdenum steel | A204/A204M | Grade C |
201 |
•Hardness value suitable for S3
Heat treatment parameters
|
Steel Pipe Grade |
ASTM Standard |
Post-weld heat treatment Temperature (stress relief) °F (°C) |
Normalizing temperature max Except where otherwise specified °F (°C) |
Quenching temperature max Except otherwise specified °F (°C) |
Tempering temperature min °F (°C) |
| CM-75 | A204/A204M |
1100~1200 (590~650) |
1700 (925) |
- |
- |
Category number, heat treatment and inspection items
| Class | Heat Treatment on Pipe Section see: | Radiography, see Section |
Pressure |
| 10 | none | none | none |
| 11 | none | 9 | none |
| 12 | none | 9 | 8.3 |
| 13 | none | none | 8.3 |
| 21 | stress relieved, see 6.3.1 | none | none |
| 21 | stress relieved, see 6.3.1 | 9 | none |
| 22 | stress relieved, see 6.3.1 | 9 | 8.3 |
| 23 | stress relieved, see 6.3.1 | none | 8.3 |
| 31 | normalized, see 6.3.2 | none | none |
| 31 | normalized, see 6.3.2 | 9 | none |
| 32 | normalized, see 6.3.2 | 9 | 8.3 |
| 33 | normalized, see 6.3.2 | none | 8.3 |
| 40 | normalized and tempered, see 6.3.3 | none | none |
| 43 | normalized and tempered, see 6.3.3 | 9 | none |
| 43 | normalized and tempered, see 6.3.3 | 9 | 8.3 |
| 43 | normalized and tempered, see 6.3.3 | none | 8.3 |
| 50 | quenched and tempered, see 6.3.4 | none | none |
| 51 | quenched and tempered, see 6.3.4 | 9 | none |
| 52 | quenched and tempered, see 6.3.4 | 9 | 8.3 |
| 53 | quenched and tempered, see 6.3.4 | none | 8.3 |
Application
| Sector | Typical duty |
|---|---|
| Fossil power generation | Main steam, hot reheat and auxiliary steam lines on units where the design temperature exceeds the practical range of carbon steel |
| Petrochemical and refining | Hot process lines, transfer and flash drums piping, catalytic and hydrocracker circuits at moderate hydrogen partial pressure |
| Boiler and pressure vessel piping | Large-bore connections and interconnecting piping for ASME code-stamped equipment |
| Industrial steam headers | Header and manifold construction where large diameter, heavy wall and code-welded joints are combined |
| Heavy process plant | Hot-side pipework where an A387 Cr-Mo grade is not yet required but carbon steel is no longer adequate |
Heat treatment
A691 gives heat-treatment temperatures by grade. For the CM group the specified window is narrow enough that a subcontracted heat-treat shop has to be told the numbers, not just "stress relieve".
| Treatment | CM-65 / CM-70 / CM-75 | Applies to class |
|---|---|---|
| Post-weld heat treatment (stress relief) | 1100–1200 °F (590–650 °C) | 2x series |
| Normalizing, maximum | 1700 °F (925 °C) | 3x series |
| Normalizing and tempering | Temper per qualified procedure | 4x series |
| Quenching and tempering | Quench from 1700 °F (925 °C) max | 5x series |
Source: ASTM A691/A691M heat-treatment table for the CM grades. For the CM group the specification lists no separate quenching or tempering temperature - the normalized and quenched conditions are both capped at 1700 °F (925 °C) maximum.
A691 CM75 alloy steel pipe



Send the grade and class and we will quote against a real slot
We produce A691/A691M EFW pipe across OD 406.4–1626 mm (NPS 16–64) and wall 6–75 mm, in classes 10 through 53. A useful first message contains four things: grade and class (for example A691 CM-75, Class 22), size (OD × wall × length), quantity, and the supplementary requirements your client wants. With those we confirm the plate source and the heat-treatment route the same day, and issue a firm quotation within two working days.
FAQ
What does CM-75 mean in ASTM A691?
In ASTM A691 the grade letter group states the type of pressure-vessel plate the pipe is fabricated from. CM means carbon-molybdenum. Table 1 of A691/A691M maps CM-65, CM-70 and CM-75 to ASTM A204/A204M Grades A, B and C respectively. CM-75 is therefore pipe made from A204/A204M Grade C: 75–95 ksi (515–655 MPa) tensile, 43 ksi (295 MPa) minimum yield, 201 HB maximum.
Is A691 CM-75 a chrome moly pipe?
Not in the metallurgical sense. CM stands for carbon-molybdenum, and the matching plate A204/A204M Grade C carries 0.45–0.60% molybdenum with no deliberate chromium addition. The chromium-bearing A691 grades are the ones designated ½Cr, 1Cr, 1¼Cr, 2¼Cr, 3Cr, 5Cr, 9Cr and 91, all of which are made from A387/A387M plate. CM-75 is often listed as chrome moly in trade catalogues, which is a mislabel.
What is the difference between an A691 grade and an A691 class?
Grade names the plate: it fixes chemistry, strength level and the plate specification (for CM-75, A204/A204M Grade C). Class names what was done to the finished pipe: the heat treatment applied, whether the longitudinal weld was radiographically examined under Section 9, and whether the pipe was hydrostatically tested under 8.3. Classes run 10, 11, 12, 13, 20 … 53. Both must be stated on the purchase order.
What does Class 22 mean for A691 CM-75 pipe?
Class 22 combines three things: the pipe is stress relieved under A691 5.3.1, the weld is radiographically examined under Section 9, and the pipe is pressure tested under 8.3. It is the most common class specified for CM-75 in steam and process service. Class 12 is the same duty in the un-heat-treated condition, and Class 20 is stress relieved but not radiographed or pressure tested.
What size range does ASTM A691 CM-75 cover?
ASTM A691/A691M nominally covers pipe 16 in. (406.4 mm) in outside diameter and larger, with wall thickness up to 3 in. (75 mm) inclusive. Pipe of other dimensions may be furnished provided it meets all other requirements of the specification, so smaller diameters are possible by agreement but are outside the nominal scope. Lengths are commonly 5.8–12 m.
What are the mechanical properties of A691 CM-75?
The governing plate, A204/A204M Grade C, is specified at 75–95 ksi (515–655 MPa) tensile strength, 43 ksi (295 MPa) minimum yield strength, 20% minimum elongation in 2 in. (50 mm) and 16% in 8 in. (200 mm), with a maximum hardness of 201 HB under A691 Table 1. A691 Table 2 states the finished-pipe tensile requirements; both sets of values appear on the mill test report.
Does ASTM A691 require Charpy impact testing?
No. Impact testing is not a base requirement of A691. Charpy V-notch impact, hardness and metallographic examination sit in the supplementary requirements and only apply when they are written into the order. If you need CVN values, state the test temperature, the minimum absorbed energy and whether base metal, weld and heat-affected zone are all tested, otherwise the mill has no defined obligation.
Is electric fusion welding the same as electrofusion welding?
No, they are different processes on different materials. Electric fusion welding (EFW) is the arc welding of steel plate with filler metal added, and it is what ASTM A691 covers. Electrofusion welding is the socket-fusion joining of polyethylene pipe using an embedded heating coil, and it is covered by standards such as ISO 4427 and ASTM F1055. A691 CM-75 pipe is EFW pipe.
What size range and minimum order can you supply for A691 CM-75?
Our standard supply range for A691 CM-75 is outside diameter 406.4–1626 mm (NPS 16–64) with wall thickness 6–75 mm (0.236–3 in.), in classes 10 through 53, in lengths of 5.8–12 m standard and up to 18 m on request. The minimum order quantity is 30 tons per item, and mixed items on one order are quoted together. Dimensions outside this range are quoted case by case against plate availability.
What documents and third-party inspection come with the pipe?
Every order ships with an EN 10204 3.1 or 3.2 mill test report carrying the heat analysis and mechanical results, together with the plate mill certificate, radiographic examination reports, heat-treatment charts, hydrostatic test records, WPS/PQR and welder qualifications, and a packing list. SGS, BV, TUV, Intertek or a client-nominated agency can attend inspection before heat treatment, after heat treatment or before shipment, and the goods are not released until the release note is signed.
Hot Tags: ASTM A691 CM-75 Electric-Fusion-Welded Pipe, China ASTM A691 CM-75 Electric-Fusion-Welded Pipe manufacturers, suppliers, A358 TP321 TP321H Welded Pipe, Butt Fusion Welded Pipe, HDPE Plastic Water Supply Pipe, Welded HDPE PE100 Water Supply Pipes, API Electrofusion Welded Carbon Steel Tube, Pipe Fusion Welding
You Might Also Like
Send Inquiry













